Hunts Lock

Close to my home is the River Weaver, the River Dane and the canal. My everyday walk consists of walking along side them meeting my friends along the way! We start off in a scrub land area which is left to its own devices. It is wildlife friendly so that the bees and birds can live there happily. It makes for a good walk full of interesting smells, and places to play.

P1050384             It has been a while since my younger person has taken me for this walk and she was so surprised that the grass had gotten so long. It is about 4 or 5 times my height! But as long as I can just about see where i am going or if my person can I don’t mind.P1050419

We had to be a little careful at one point as the grass hid where the land and river met, I didn’t fancy falling in and my person is too big for me to pull out so I decided to take it slowly so she was safe.

P1050424

We continue on the trail, and in the most embarrassing  fashion, I have to be lifted over a stile. but that means we have reached the field.

P1050429

It is looking a bit yellow at the moment but this bit is looked after by someone and was nice and short for me to run  around on and play with my squeaky ball. Then it is on towards the locks.

   P1050435

P1050449

Boats come through the lock regularly and I love to sit and watch them go up and down, so that they can get to different parts of the river. I don’t like it when my person tells me to come on as we need to carry on with our walk.

P1050441

We go to the big new bridge, which I like to look at the ducks from. sometimes my person brings bread for them and they quack and swim towards us. I hide then as they get a bit too much, they are my size you know!

We walk back down to the locks and across and then on towards the train bridge!

P1050454

It is a huge set of arches that are very old! Even older then the oldest person in the house and he is 57! I wonder who was alive when they were made? Anyway they are big and trains cross them to get over the two rivers.

We walk to them usually, although if a train is going across it make a huge and horrible noise. I swear there are monsters up there and I hide and asked to be cuddled by my person.

P1050476

P1050479

Though today we were okay there were no train monsters and I had a nice sit down and some biscuits.

Then it was back home for a nice sleep in the shade.

P1050456

Leave a Reply

