Beeston Castle

P1060134

Beeston Castle is well a castle supposedly. All I was told is that some old guy may have buried some treasure here a very long time ago.  Though it wasn’t bones or chews so I don’t care really. Anyway, to get to the castle we first had to walk up a gigantic hill! A monster hill, the hill of all hills, basically a mountain for a short dog like me, I think I came down a few centimeters shorter too!

P1060166Halfway up we had to have a rest as my person isn’t the fittest of people, even the young skinny one agreed to a rest. I wanted to get going and get to the top as soon as possible so we could have our picnic.

P1060179

(Nearly there! There was a big ditch which I was going to walk down, but my people handily told me we could walk over a bridge)

P1060185

Once we got to the bridge and the main bit of the castle, (after our mountaineering) we had to have a look at where we had been. It is compulsory I tell you. (My people think this was the best photo of the day) I think they should rename the castle to Alfie’s castle, I mean how good do I look sat there on that bridge.

So we entered and had a walk around looking at the views and wondering what idiots would have tried to attack here. You can see for miles and miles. You can see the sea about 30 miles away and the mountain in Wales. That is a whole different country!

P1060204

I wasn’t allowed on the wall to see above it but I was told it was nice.

P1060172

Then after a while we had to stop I had hurt my paw and was limping a little. I was trying to tell my people there was something wrong but they couldn’t see it! They bend and twisted my paw but that wasn’t the problem, the silly things. So they let me carry on walking for a while till we sat down for a rest and they had another look. They found it this time! Some people had been cutting down plant on top of the hill and I had unknowingly stood on the head of a thistle OWCH! It was untangled from my foot fluff and I was happy once more.

P1060213

It was time for our picnic. My people had brought me my own special supply of ham and chicken, they ate more funky stuffs.

P1060245

Then it was back to the walking to walk around the base of the castle, we saw the caves and the catacombs and some scary thing I wouldn’t go into.

P1060214

It was time to go after all that walking, the castle was nice, but the hill of hills wasn’t.

It is nice to be able to go to places, with my people. If there are anymore doggy friendly places I’d like to know.

x

10 thoughts on “Beeston Castle

  1. I’d love it to be my castle and everyone could call me prince Alfie of Cheshire! Sadly no I live in a more modest adobe. Though a little house is enough for a little doggy, the garden is big enough for a good play in, though I would like more running room, for now walkies will have to do.
    I do wish there were more indoor dog friendly places though.
    x

  2. Alfie you should find that treasure and use it to buy all the bones and treats in the world! Sounds like you had a lot of fun (aside from the nasty thistle incident) 🙂

  3. Greetings Alfie from Little Dogs Laughed-you sure look regal there in your last pic-we think you would be well suited to castle life. Thanks so much for visiting us and we look forward to reading more about your adventures! 🙂

    • Hi Freda. I bet when you are older you will be taken lots of places! They are fun, but anywhere can be fun when you are with your people 🙂 Good luck when you reach the big wide world xx

Leave a Reply

