The Dreaded Vets!

Yesterday I had a surprise trip in the car, I thought we were going to the park … maybe visiting family, or perhaps going to the pet shop. No! I wasn’t going to any of those nice places. I was being taken to the VETS! Now all pets know of this nasty place. The last time I was there the vets almost killed me! My people weren’t happy at all. Still I am told every year I need to get my injections.

I went into the reception and we were told to have a seat. I sat on my person’s knee trembling, she was nice and comforted me. I felt a bit better when I met a little Schnauzer, we had a little chat but then went back to our own people.

Eventually I was called in. I was plonked unceremoniously on to a black table and as I tried to hide in my persons coat I was dragged out again by a person I had never met before! I was manhandled and poked and prodded and the vet looked at my person and said ‘he looks like a Papillon but he is a little big’. The man was doubting what I am. My person told we do have the certificate saying I was a Pap, and that I wasn’t wanted because of a few defects, but my people didn’t realise size was one of them nor did I. They all agree it doesn’t matter what I am, they love me none the less. (I felt so loved then :D)

After all of that he then took a HUGE and I mean Huge! Okay quite a small needle, and proceeded to jab me with it. I screamed in pain and it made the vet jump and pull the needle out to quick! I didn’t go to bite him I didn’t even turn my head towards him I just squeaked. The stupid man then had to finish what was left in the needle else I would have been done properly. I was stabbed twice!

I was taken away and then another car journey later we were i the pet shop. I was allowed Β to pick my favorite chew which I carried to the car on my own. So it cancelled it all out. I hope you all don’t have nasty vets stories but I bet you do, silly vets.

P1070122

21 thoughts on “The Dreaded Vets!

  1. Oh Alfie I am sorry you had a yukky vet visit….we are very lucky our vet is lovely and gentle and kind..which makes it less stressful for all the doggies and kitties..she even was lovely enough to see Bashful the pet rock who is visitng us from America…so we are lucky..i am glad you got a treat and reassured that you are loved πŸ™‚

    • That sounds like you have a lovely vet, can I have her to? The man was a silly bloke. It came as a bit of a shock to think I am not all Papillon! xx

      • Funny when you know who and what you are πŸ™‚ I took our dearly missed Sheep Basil who was at the time a lamb to the vet when he was attacked by dogs..he was a lovely black lambie…in the waiting room of the vets a lady said ‘oh poor puppy isn’t well’ wrong species all together!!!! Dr Rayya would look after you very well if you came to see her Alfie πŸ™‚ xxx

      • Wow! Poor sheepy not only being attacked by dogs but being mistaken for one too! I hope the vet knew he was a lambie, and I am sorry he went to the field in the sky. But is nice to know there are nice vets out there. My people had a good complain and moan. Hopefully they wont be as mean to the kitties when they need their jabs. xx

      • Thanks Alfie..he recovered well but the doggies came back three years later and had a scent memory and killed Basil and his mum Rosemary..they are at the bridge with all the other sweet anipals πŸ™‚ Our vet we had them knew he was a lambie hehehee luckily!! I hope the kitties do get a better sort of treatment..perhaps they could give a little spray on the way out πŸ˜‰ xxx

      • Oh no well I guess they are in a nice place now at least. 😦 Though I do like your thinking … a nice little wee up something important would be just about right πŸ˜€

  2. Poor Alfie! I have to agree with you, that some vets are yukky and shouldn’t be vets at all! My doggies are perhaps a bit more fortunate and are spared going to the vet’s office. Instead, my vet usually comes to the farm [for the big animals] and so, they take care of my doggies health needs too! Hope you feel better soon! It sounds like your ‘people’ is a very kind soul!

    • Wow at least you don’t have to go in the car! Yeah they are all nice people and they like all animals. πŸ™‚ So the house is always full and happy πŸ˜€ xx

  3. Awww, Alfie you are adorable!! We are happy for you that you got to go to the pet shop and pick out your favorite chew after having to visit the vet. We have a very nice vet but we don’t like what happens to us when we go to see him. Hugs and nose kisses

    • The pet shop is great πŸ™‚ Unless the people are getting them flea things that smells nasty. The vets not so much .. they can go away. πŸ˜€ xxx

  4. That doesn’t seem like a nice experience… My dad gave my my 3 combination vaccines, he has done this with all his other dogs so he knew how to do it, mom held me in a towel and I relaxed, so it wasn’t all that bad. But for the Rabies we have to go to the vet… I am not looking forward to it. I hope he will be nice to me. And who cares that you are a little big to be a Papillon. you still are one. You are just the deluxe version, haha! πŸ˜‰ I am glad you got to choose a toy afterwards, that was nice.

    • That nice for your dad to do it. At least you can stay at home and I bet he was lovely. I hope the vet will be nice too! I like the deluxe version, I should use that more often. πŸ˜€ It is good to have nice people and going to the pet shop is always fun πŸ˜€ xx

  5. Alfie, we are so sorry that you had to endure that awful visit. Our mom takes us to the doctor person, too. She keeps telling us that it’s a good thing for us ‘cuz she doesn’t want us getting sick. At least you got a new chewie afterwards so that’s great. Hang in there. Stay healthy and you won’t have to go again until next year.

    • Hopefully! It would be nice not to have to go again. I just hope they are nice to them when the kitties go. (Though I have from one of my sources that Skally bit the vet last time he had his jab!) Perhaps he does it for all of us πŸ˜€ At least I hope he does. At least I can still go outside and meet other doggies with out too much worry now πŸ˜€ Good luck for when you go xx

  6. Oh Alfie – I love the vets. Went this afternoon to sort out a skin thingy and I raced up the steps pulling my mum’s arm off. They give you treats and there’s always kittens for sale that smell nice. Don’t be put off by one nasty experience:)

    • I don’t want to go near any more kittens for sale! My person wouldn’t be able to contain herself … I’d end up with more feline companions and I have enough thank you! The treats are good I just hope I get a nicer vet next year … silly man. πŸ˜€

  7. Poor you. My vet, Graham, is from Zimbabwe. He’s lovely. All the staff are great especially Fran who gets down and plays with me. They also give me treats πŸ™‚ I get really excited when I get out of the car and see where we are. Although I am only 16 months I’ve had a few injections. The worst were the two I had when I was bitten by an adder but I hardly noticed them. I must have thick skin or as my (very rude) person says “where there’s no sense there’s no feeling”.

    • Oh No bitten by an adder! I hope you were okay … best stay away from them snakes. Though it is good to know there are such nice vets out there somewhere πŸ˜€ especially ones that want to play.

Leave a Reply

